Professional Hopes and Goals – EDUC 6164

My hope when working with children and families from a diverse background is that all families and children feel secure, respected and that they are important. Through the Perspective Diversity and Equity class, I hope that what I have learned has given me a foundation to build great relationships with children and families and a support system for other early childhood professionals.

As I look at what the early childhood field in the issues of diversity, equity, and social justice, I challenge you to one goal. Take the time to get to know each and every family and child. Learn what is important to them, what their interest are, how they learn best, what their needs are, and how you can help them. Take the time to research their backgrounds and culture and feel comfortable enough to ask questions for clarification. Everyone has something to offer….challenge yourself to find out what each one of your families and children have to offer.

To all my colleagues, I appreciate all you have taught me through your comments here on this blog, reply to my discussion posts, and other communications we have had during these last 8 weeks. What a pleasure it has been! I pray that each one of you success in all you do and hope that we will “see” each other again soon! Best wishes and take care!

5 thoughts on “Professional Hopes and Goals – EDUC 6164

  1. Tanya Meridith says:

    Gena,
    Thank you for sharing so much during this course. I like the goal you stated above about getting to know the children and families. It is easy to pass judgement when you do not know someone. This is a great way to build relationships while learning about their culture.
    Thanks
    Tanya

  2. amalmukhlis says:

    Gena,
    I really like your goal, very inspiring.. i also agree that everyone has something to offer! Having discussions with you and learning more about you and your culture have helped become more aware of the Early Childhood world and multiculturalism. Good luck in your near future and I wish you all the best ☺

  3. mrsbyrd517 says:

    Great Post! I really enjoyed reading your Blog throughout this course thanks for sharing. As educators of a diverse community it is very important that we learn about diversity and how important it is in a child’s environment.

  4. Hi Gena
    I like your challenge and everyone should participate. I agree with you it is vital to learn about the families you serve. Getting information about the children and their families will give the teacher an insight of the family. Children and their parents will feel comfortable when they know they are being supported. Best wishes to you in the education field. I enjoyed reading all of your post.

    LaNea

  5. Divya says:

    Gena, thanks for all the great interaction you have provided throughout this course. I love the challenge that you presented regarding knowing each child and family that we serve. I think that is indeed the summary of this course. I agree with you about the way this course has laid a foundation to a thought so profound and virtuous. Good luck with everything!

    Thanks,
    Divya

Leave a comment