Welcoming Families from Around the World – EDUC 6164

Imagine being an early childhood center director and/or teacher and you receive a phone call from a family service worker that is trying to find child care for a family from Yemen. What would you do to prepare for this child and family? This was the question asked of us this week in class. Why Yemen? Ok, don’t laugh, but I really have wanted to learn more about Yemen ever since poor Chandler had to go to Yemen to get away from Janice on Friends.
So, what would I do to prepare for a child from another country? To begin with, I would have to begin doing some research on the traditions people from Yemen feel are important to their way of life. I would search organizations on the web that could give me correct/up-to-date information and purchase books on traditions and other important aspects of their culture. I would also ensure that an interpreter would be present to help with in communication with the family.
I would also being to look at activities I could include within our curriculum to help the child feel welcome in the classroom. I found a great website that has some information about certain countries for this. It is called Explore and More – Culture for Kids and can be found at: http://www.exploreandmore.org/world/default.htm . I feel having activities and/or materials to put in the classroom would help the child and family see that we are trying to ensure that they feel comfortable and that their culture is just as important as the other cultures in the classroom. Just by adding pictures, learning a song, having writing, or just a story about Yemen or in Arabic would help the child see familiarity within a new environment and can ease stress.
I believe the communication is a key to building a relationship with the family and building trust with the family as well. So, I would learn how to speak some basic, but important words in their home language. Words like; hello, yes, no, good-bye, and other words that would help begin a conversation to allow the family to see that we are trying to show the importance of their culture.
Coming to a new country (as I would think it would be for me going to another country) can be trying and stressful. By having something from their homeland, I feel that a child can begin to feel a little secure within the new environment. Therefore, learning some of the foods they may cook that are different from our food and that might be the child’s favorite would help with transitioning the child into the center and feel that there is a piece of home within his classroom.
One of the final things I would do is to sit down with the family and begin to learn about their specific family. Their traditions, parts of their culture that is important, the specific way they handle discipline within their culture, and any other information they feel might be important for us to know, not only about their child, but their home life as well.
Hopefully by preparing my staff and myself through these steps, we can help the family and child find security within our program. Preparing for a family from a different country would take some work and we wouldn’t be perfect at everything we were trying to do, but I feel that the family would see our effort and help them to be less stress in leaving their child in our environment. By making the family and child feel secure and welcomed, the foundation for trust and open communication is built and hopefully a life time of learning on both sides will grow.

6 thoughts on “Welcoming Families from Around the World – EDUC 6164

  1. Denise Madzik says:

    Gena,
    I know that you aren’t in my current group, but I still subscribe to your posts and your post this week made me smile. My older daughter and I are fans of Friends and the example of Yemen was really quite effective in thinking about the question for this week’s blog posting. I know that I have never met anyone from Yemen. Your plans for your center were great!

  2. amalmukhlis says:

    Hello,
    I think it’s great that you are interested in the country Yemen, i have friends from Yemen and from the things they have told me, their culture is very interesting. I agree with your comment about getting to know the family and their cultural values to learn more about them and the child therefore teachers are able to implement activities based on child’s interests.

  3. Tanya Meridith says:

    Gena,
    I think it’s great to what to understand about a family from Yemen. This is a place we only hear about if something negative happens and not about the families and children in the country. I am sure they have such a different cultural experience that it would be interesting to learn about. At the end of the day, I believe learning attempting to learn about new cultures can provide a more accepting environment to children and families.
    Thanks
    Tanya

  4. mrsbyrd517 says:

    Great Post! When I saw Yemen, I was wondering why there. Knowing our families allow us to build better relationships which will prompt partnering together for the development of the child.

  5. Gena,
    First, let me say I love the Friends reference! 🙂
    I enjoyed reading your post this week, especially the last sentence when you talked about growing because of this situation. You are so right. Sometimes I have had teachers who view the “extra” work to prepare for a student with a different culture in a negative light, but really they should look at it as growing to be a better teacher, and growing to have a better classroom. Thanks for making me think this week!
    Machaela

  6. dgm1952 says:

    Gena,
    You have researched and thought about how best to welcome your new student. How will you involve the support staff at your school? Will you have the janitor present with a few words so the child and his family can feel that everyone is interested in them and that communicating with them some important words will make them more at ease.

Leave a comment